For over eighty years from the late 1890s

until the 1970s people from all over South

Africa were drawn to Johannesburg to shop

at the iconic stores on Eloff and Pritchard

Streets. Stuttafords - in its many forms -

was one of the major attractions. The Third

Stuttafords Building, a nine storey steel

framed building completed in 1928, is a

major Johannesburg landmark.


After years of neglect, the building is now

being restored and converted into 187

rental apartments above a revitalized

commercial ground floor. As well as the

structural challenges of the conversion the

design involves the sensitive preservation

of the building’s heritage.



Download PDF



Lessing House